2019 Celebration of Football: The Award Winners

The annual Celebration of Football, held at the Adelaide Convention Centre, was the Federation's largest to date, with more than 900 members of the South Australian football family in attendance.

The night was expertly hosted by Channel 9’s Tom Rehn and sports MC, Jarrod Walsh.

The unveiling of the new brand and name change – from Football Federation South Australia to Football South Australia – took place during the night.

Enjoy some highlights from a special night.

Football SA CEO, Michael Carter shared some of this year’s achievements, as well as a new partnership with Bendigo Bank.

“Football South Australia has a growing list of corporate partners who have chosen to have a connection with the Football Family. We are very fortunate to have some great brands aligned to the game and we will continue to foster these relationships.

“I am pleased tonight to announce a new partnership with Bendigo Bank."

“Bendigo Bank have agreed to become the naming rights partner of our new Community Awards Program. The community awards program is designed to recognise individuals and clubs who contribute to the local game.”

Michael Carter shared with the football community about a partnership that commenced this year with the Bedford Group.

“The partnership resulted in the commencement of our community league for people with a disability. The community league was a great success and culminated in the winning team playing at half time of the NPL Grand Final at Coopers Stadium.”

The Celebration of Football allows all within the football community to come together and celebrate the achievements of the past season and acknowledge long-standing contributors to the game of football through the Hall of Fame induction.

2019 Hall of Fame Inductees

Moya Dodd was inducted into the HALL OF HONOUR as a member for OUTSTANDING CONTRIBUTION

Neville Flounders was inducted into the HALL OF CHAMPIONS as a member for OUTSTANDING PERFORMANCE

National Premier League Awards

Sergio Melta Medal

Ricardo DaSilva – Adelaide Olympic

Triple M Player of the Year (as voted by the coaches each week)

Hamish McCabe – Adelaide Blue Eagles

Coach of the Year – Martyn Crook Trophy

Joe Mullen – Campbelltown City

Golden Boot Award

Christos Pounendis– Adelaide Olympic

Goalkeeper of the Year – Peter Nikolich Trophy

John Hall – Croydon Kings

John Aloisi Rising Star

Kerrin Stokes – Croydon Kings

National Premier League Team of the Year


John Hall – Croydon Kings


Shaun Harvey – Campbelltown City

Kerrin Stokes –Croydon Kings

Iain Fyfe – Campbelltown City

Kyle Krout – Para Hills Knights


Hamish McCabe – Adelaide Blue Eagles

Alex Mullen – Campbelltown City

Allan Welsh – Adelaide Comets


Yohei Matsumoto – Campbelltown City

Terence Carter – Raiders

Christos Pounendis – Adelaide Olympic

Women’s National Premier League

Player of the Year – Shirley Brown Medal

Anna Pritchard – West Adelaide

James Thredgold Jeweller Player of the Year (as voted by the coaches)

Dylan Holmes – Adelaide City Football Club

Coach of the Year – Bob Bush Trophy

Andrew Calderbank – Adelaide City & Tracey Jenkins – Salisbury Inter

Golden Boot Award

Chelsie Dawber – Adelaide City

Goalkeeper of the Year

Evelyn Goldsmith – Adelaide University

Female Rising Star

Mawa Sumaoro – Adelaide University Soccer Club

Women’s National Premier League Team of the Year


Evelyn Goldsmith – Adelaide University


Emily Hodgson – West Adelaide

Elena Psaroulis – West Adelaide

Jenna McCormick – Fulham United

Zoe Tolland – FFSA NTC


Dylan Holmes – Adelaide City

Nano Sasaki – Adelaide City

Yuka Sasaki – Adelaide City


Chelsie Dawber – Adelaide City

Emily Condon – Salisbury Inter

Laura Johns – Adelaide University

State League One Awards

Player of the Year – Bob Telfer Medal

Akira Kobaishi – Sturt Lions

Coach of the Year

Jason Trimboli – Modbury Jets

Golden Boot Award – Milan Ivanovic Trophy

Shaun McGreevy – Modbury Jets & Joshua Farrell – Modbury Jets

Goalkeeper of the Year – Les Avory Trophy

Kieren Griffiths – Modbury Jets

State League Two Awards

Player of the Year

Mateusz Marczuk – Northern Demons

Coach of the Year

Craig Leith – Adelaide Hills

Golden Boot Award

Iradi Baragomwa – Gawler Eagles

Goalkeeper of the Year

Connor Hudson – Adelaide Hills


Referee Awards

Mick O’Malley Young Referee of the Year

Henry Day

Mike Ingham Referee of the Year

Daniel Cook

Community and Group Awards

Referee Rising Star Award

Jackie Megson

Women’s Collegiate League Player of the Year

Jennifer Moan – Westminster Old Scholars & Brittany Jessup – Mercedes Old Collegians

Women’s Division 6 Player of the Year

Rosanna Barani – Flinders Flames

Women’s Division 5 Player of the Year

Andrea De La Torre – Barossa United

Women’s Division 4 Player of the Year

Rose Wright – Noarlunga United

Women’s Division 3 Player of the Year

Eliza Sims – Old Ignatians Football Club

Khatima Sultani – Ghan Kilburn City

Women’s Division 2 Player of the Year

Leah Noto – Salisbury Inter

Women’s Division 1 Player of the Year

Katelyn Tucker – Salisbury United

State League Two Under 18’s Player of the Year

Jiela Ajak – Gawler Eagles

State League Two Reserves Player of the Year

Bevan Henderson – Northern Demons

State League One Under 18 Player of the Year – Rab Jones Award

Cameron Gardener – Seaford Rangers

State League One Reserves Player of the Year – Len Alagich Award

Domenic Tripodi – West Torrens Birkalla

National Premier League Under 18 Player of the Year – John Francis Award

Awal Dut – Adelaide City

Women’s National Premier League Reserve Player of the Year

Alysia Panagakos – Adelaide University

National Premier League Reserve Player of the Year – Charlie Caruso Award

Brandon Centofanti – Campbelltown City & Peter Katsambis - Croydon Kings

Bendigo Bank Club of the Year

Port Adelaide Soccer Club

Community Coach of the Year

Bruno Giovanniello – BOSA Football Club

Volunteer of the Year

Jon Thurlow – Naracoorte United Soccer Club