2020 Celebration of Football Award winners, proudly presented by RAA Travel

Football South Australia’s annual awards night, the Celebration of Football proudly presented by RAA Travel, was held in a virtual format on Wednesday 11 November 2020.


The virtual awards, expertly hosted by Channel 9’s Tom Rehn and sports MC Jarrod Walsh, were shared via Football South Australia’s Facebook and YouTube channels.

The Hon Corey Wingard MP, Minister for Recreation, Sport and Racing opened the night by acknowledging how challenging the season had been due to COVID-19 and commended the South Australian Football Family for their collective efforts in ensuring that the season could be played and completed.

Football SA President Sam Ciccarello reiterated Minister Wingard’s sentiments:

“Insofar as the sporting sector, I can say with confidence that the football community in South Australia has led the way for community and semi-professional sports and this is a credit to the leaders in the game at club and association level.”

The Football SA President thanked the State Government for their significant financial contribution of $490,000 for the “Whole of Football” financial relief package, which combined with Football South Australia’s contribution of $370,000 saw a total of $860,000 provided to the local football community for meaningful and material support.

Football South Australia congratulates all the award winners for 2020.

National Premier League Awards

Sergio Melta Medal
Allan Welsh – Adelaide Comets



Coach of the Year – Martyn Crook Trophy
Barney Smith – Adelaide Comets

Golden Boot Award
Allan Welsh – Adelaide Comets

Goalkeeper of the Year – Peter Nikolich Trophy
John Hall – Croydon Kings

John Aloisi Rising Star
Domenic Costanzo – Croydon Kings

Women’s National Premier League Awards

Player of the Year – Shirley Brown Medal
Maria Jose Rojas – Salisbury Inter


Coach of the Year – Bob Bush Trophy
Tony Scalzi – Metro United Women’s Football Club

Golden Boot Award
Chelsie Dawber – Adelaide City

Goalkeeper of the Year
Sarah Willacy – West Adelaide

Female Rising Star
Jonti Fisher – Football SA NTC


State League One Awards

Player of the Year – Bob Telfer Medal

Jonathon Rideout – South Adelaide


Coach of the Year
Ben Moore – Playford City

Golden Boot Award – Milan Ivanovic Trophy
Jonathon Rideout – South Adelaide

Goalkeeper of the Year – Les Avory Trophy
Ryan Veitch – South Adelaide



State League Two Awards

Player of the Year
Matthew Marchioro – Modbury Vista

Matthew Marchioro

Coach of the Year

Raffaele Frisina – Adelaide University

Golden Boot Award
Aaron Acton – Eastern United & Benny Kovadio – Gawler Eagles

Goalkeeper of the Year
Callum Piantadosi – Adelaide Cobras


Referee Awards

Mick O’Malley Young Referee of the Year
Henry Day

Mike Ingham Referee of the Year
Daniel Elder

Daniel Elder


Referee Rising Star
Ian Crossing


Women’s Community Divisions Awards

Women’s Division 6 Player of the Year
Meg Blackie – Elizabeth Downs

Women’s Division 5 Player of the Year
Ostara Nandori – Mount Barker United

Women’s Division 4 Player of the Year
Kathryn Gilbert – Hahndorf

Women’s Division 3 Player of the Year
Ashleigh Fairhead – Adelaide Hills Hawks

Women’s Division 2 Player of the Year
Jessica Goldfinch – South Adelaide

Women’s Division 1 Player of the Year
Poppy Waterford – Adelaide University


Under 18 and Reserves Awards

State League Two Under 18’s Player of the Year
Emir Sahinovic – Salisbury United

State League Two Reserves Player of the Year
Jayden Upton – Pirates FC

State League One Under 18 Player of the Year – Rab Jones Award
Michael Smallridge – Adelaide Victory

State League One Reserves Player of the Year – Len Alagich Award
Domenic Tripodi – West Torrens Birkalla/Fulham United

National Premier League Under 18 Player of the Year – John Francis Award
Jokew Wuol – Modbury Jets

Women’s National Premier League Reserve Player of the Year
Alysia Panagakos – Adelaide University

National Premier League Reserve Player of the Year – Charlie Caruso Award
Taki Tsialafos – Adelaide Comets

Football South Australia’s Community Awards proudly supported by Bendigo Bank, including Club of the Year, Community Coach of the Year, Community Referee of the Year and Volunteer of the Year, will be announced at the 2020 Grand Final Breakfast, to be held on Thursday 26 November 2020 at the Adelaide Convention Centre.

The WNPL Team of the Year was announced via social media the week beginning Monday 9 November, while the NPL Team of the Year will be announced in the lead up to the 2020 NPL Grand Final, the week beginning Monday 23 November.

A full list of votes from all competitions will be distributed in the coming days.