Event Wrap: Bedford Community Tournament featuring the Phoenix Cup

The Bedford Community Tournament, featuring the Phoenix Cup, was another roaring success with 14 teams from across regional and metropolitan South Australia taking part in the annual event for football participants with a disability.

With over 150 participants and more than 300 people in the crowd at Ladywood Reserve, all teams absorbed the competitive nature of the sport but played with immense spirit and fair play. 



Division 1 featured Adelaide United, One Culture Football, UA Lions, UA Sharks, UA Cobras, UA Eagles, and Gepps Cross Rebels.

Incredibly, the UA Lions managed to win all six of their round-robin fixtures. UA Lions earned a place in the Grand Final, overcoming the Gepps Cross Rebels in the semi-final. In the other semi-final, UA Sharks stunned second-placed side UA Eagles, claiming victory through a penalty shoot-out to progress to the Grand Final.

In the Grand Final it was underdogs UA Sharks who prevailed, with a score line of 2-1 at the final whistle.

Division 2 featured Limestone All Ability, Orana, R’n’B Fridays, Elizabeth Reincarnation, Torrensville Tigers, Panorama Raiders and Panorama United.

Orana and Panorama United set the tone for Division 2, both sides having a very strong start to the tournament. The goal-scoring prowess of Panorama United secured them top spot at the end of the round-robin fixtures.

Panorama United cruised into the Grand Final after scoring two goals against Limestone All Ability, while Orana and R’n’B Fridays had a tighter encounter as their 2-all draw took them into a penalty shoot-out, where R’n’B Fridays claimed victory after scoring three penalties. Panorama United went on to end the day Division 2 Champions with a 3-1 victory!



As the sun set on a fantastic day, all participants were awarded medals and congratulated for their efforts.

Football South Australia would like to extend a thank you to Modbury Jets Amateur Soccer Club for hosting and coordinating the tournament at Ladywood Reserve, and extend our appreciation to all the sponsors of the event, particularly Bedford Group who will again own naming rights of the Bedford Community League in 2020.

For more information about the Bedford Community League or Football SA’s inclusive programs, please contact jake.brindley@footballlsa.com.au

A full list of award winners has been provided below.



                                                DIVISION 1                             DIVISION 2


BEST & FAIREST                  Sam Mills                               Franz Theodore

                                                (United Ability Lions)           (Panorama United)



GOLDEN BOOT                     Sam Mills                               Amechai Bawden

                                                (United Ability Lions)           (Limestone All Ability)



GOLDEN GLOVES                Xavier White                          Michael Thompson

                                                (United Ability Lions)           (Limestone All Ability)



                                                            (Adelaide United)