Celebration of Football 2021 | The Award Winners

Football South Australia’s annual awards night, the RAA Celebration of Football announces the best of the best for the 2021 home and away season. 

Over 900 guests attended the awards ceremony held at the Adelaide Convention Centre hosted by Jarrod Walsh and Rosie Panetta.

Hon Corey Wingard Minister, Senator Hon Anne Ruston and Opposition Sports Minister Katrine Hildyard were all present for the showcase event. 

Sam Ciccarello, President of Football South Australia said:

It is an exciting time as we return to the traditional award presentation that brings together the football community to celebrate the past year.” 

Reflecting on the collective achievements of the entire football family is important. Tonight’s outstanding attendance is testament to the strength of the code in South Australia.” 

Football South Australia congratulates all the award winners for 2021. 

RAA National Premier League Awards 

Sergio Melta Medal - Hamish McCabe | Adelaide Blue Eagles

Hamish McCabe

Coach of the Year – Martyn Crook Trophy Paul Pezos | Adelaide City 

Golden Boot Award – Marc Marino | Campbelltown City 

Goalkeeper of the Year – Peter Nikolich Trophy Lewis Moss | Adelaide Olympic 

John Aloisi Rising Star – Thomas Giannakopoulos | Adelaide Comets 

Women’s National Premier League Awards

Player of the Year – Shirley Brown Medal Chelsie Dawber | Adelaide City

Shirley Brown 2021

Coach of the Year – Bob Bush Trophy Michele Lastella | Football SA NTC 

Golden Boot Award – Maria Jose Rojas Pino | Salisbury Inter

Goalkeeper of the Year – Sarah Willacy | West Adelaide

Female Rising Star – Emilia Murray | Football SA NTC 


National Premier League Team of the Year 2021

Team of the Year 2021


Women's National Premier League Team of the Year 2021

WNPLSA Team of the Year 2021


Women’s State League Awards 

Player of the Year – Anne Sergeant Medal Kelly Tataryn | Modbury Vista


Coach of the Year – Joel Porter | Flinders Flames 

Golden Boot Award – Kelly Tataryn | Modbury Vista

Goalkeeper of the Year – Abbey McCarthy | Modbury Jets 


State League One Awards 

Player of the Year – Bob Telfer Medal Daniel Ryan | Playford City

Coach of the Year Jason Trimboli | West Torrens Birkalla 

Golden Boot Award – Milan Ivanovic Trophy Joshua Farrell | Playford City

Goalkeeper of the Year – Les Avory Trophy Deale Chamberlain | White City 


State League Two Awards 

Player of the Year James Skeffengtion | Port Adelaide Pirates 

Coach of the Year Michael Matricciani | Adelaide University

Golden Boot Award Anthony Dimas | Pontian Eagles 

Goalkeeper of the Year Alex Tate | Port Adelaide Pirates 


Referee Awards 

Mick O’Malley Young Referee of the Year Liam Miller

Mike Ingham Referee of the Year Daniel Goodwin 

Referee Rising Star Tom Brinkworth 


Community Football & Group Awards 

Women’s Division 6 South Player of the Year Florence Russell | Sturt Lions 

Women’s Division 6 North Player of the Year Shannon Chomik | Angle Vale 

Women’s Division 5 Player of the Year Matika Hilliard-Faulkner | Elizabeth Downs 

Women’s Division 4 Player of the Year Tayla Stabile | Croydon FC 

Women’s Division 3 Player of the Year Elisabeth Dodds | UniSA 

Women’s Division 2 Player of the Year Siri Stewart | Croydon FC 

Women’s Division 1 Player of the Year Leah Noto | Salisbury Inter 


State League Two Under 18’s Player of the Year Matthew Lill | Adelaide University SC 

State League Two Reserves Player of the Year Emir Sahinovic | Salisbury United 

State League One Under 18 Player of the Year – Rab Jones Award Brayden O’Connor | Modbury Jets 

State League One Reserves Player of the Year – Len Alagich Award Andrea Leonello | Fulham United 

National Premier League Under 18 Player of the Year – John Francis Award
Elian Pirone | Adelaide Blue Eagles & Ned Styles | Cumberland United 

National Premier League Reserve Player of the Year – Charlie Caruso Award
Nikolas Ikonomopoulos | Adelaide Comets 

Women’s National Premier League Reserve Player of the Year
Alana Lanuzza | Adelaide University SC 


Bendigo Bank Community Club Awards 

Community Coach of the Year Leslie Pogliacomi | Campbelltown City 

Volunteer of the Year Naomi Dalwood | Salisbury United FC 

Community Referee of the Year Melissa Nininahazwe 

Community Club of the Year Elizabeth Grove SC