Football Federation South Australia 2018 Grand Finals Wrap

Check out the Grand Final Highlights Show, proudly brought to you by RAA on FFSA NPL TV

National Premier League SA Grand Final 

Campbelltown City Soccer Club have been crowned 2018 National Premier League South Australia Champions, overcoming Adelaide City 1-0 in front of more than 4,300 spectators at Coopers Stadium. 

In an end to end opening period, it was Adelaide City who had the opportunity to take the lead on the stroke of half time. Anthony Costa taken down just inside the 18 yard box, experienced campaigner Joel Allwright stepped up to the spot but failed to put his side in front. His penalty striking the crossbar with force enabling a swift counter attack for the Red Devils, which eventually broke down just as the half time whistle sounded, leaving things tied up at the break. 

Campbelltown City took the ascendency early in the second half through a Yohei Matsumoto strike. The always dangerous Luigi Ditroia crossing to the back post to meet the sliding Matsumoto, sending the crowd wild. 

Adelaide City kept the pressure on Campbelltown City throughout the second half, creating enough chances to get back into the game. Nicholas Harpas keeping shots from Yuel and Costa out to ensure his side stayed in front. 

But it wasn't to be for Mori’s side, the Grand Final hoodoo extending a further year for the black and whites. 

Yohei Matsumoto earned Man of the Match honours for his goal scoring efforts, the day soured by what looks like a serious leg injury to Dion Kirk.

Joe Mullen’s side will soak up glory of a second trophy for 2018 before turning their attention to the National Premier Leagues Finals Series, where they will travel interstate to take on Canberra FC. 

Relive the full match at FFSA NPL TV

Campbelltown City 2018 NPL Champions

Women’s National Premier League SA Grand Final

Adelaide City have claimed back to back WNPL Championships, overcoming Metro United WFC 1-0 in a fiercely contested Grand Final. 

Adelaide City controlled much of the first 15 minutes of play, creating a number of opportunities through the speedy Daniela Di Bartolo. The black and whites soon capitalising on their persistent pressure, Chelsie Dawber latching onto the end of a long ball over the top of the defence before rounding Kelly Barltrop and sliding the ball into the back of the net. 

Metro United started to come to life in the last 20 minutes of the half, with Chrissy Panagaris causing trouble for City’s defence, complimented by excellent timed runs up the right wing from Donna Cockayne.

Despite their efforts Metro United were unable to net an equaliser in the second half, City going on to add another piece of silverware to the trophy cabinet. 

Grace Abbey was named Player of the Match for a solid performance at the back. 

Michael Hatzipanagiotis and Paul Pezos continuing to get the most out one of the most impressive playing lists we’ve seen in women’s football. 

Relive the full match at FFSA NPL TV

Adelaide City 2018 WNPL Champions

State League 1 Grand Final

Raiders have been crowned State League 1 Champions following a 3-1 victory over Adelaide Blue Eagles in the second match of the day. 

Having already secured promotion back to the NPL for 2019, both sides had nothing to lose and this was evident early with fast paced, attacking football. 

It was veteran Scott Tunbridge opening the scoring in the 21st minute for Raiders, getting on the end of a splitting ball through the Blue Eagles back four. 

The lead was doubled on 41 minutes, Justin Bralic whipping in a free kick, Yasmin Sudic meeting flicking the ball into the back of the net past the out coming Benjamin Jackson. 

Adelaide Blue Eagles found their way back into the game via a penalty shortly after the restart. A handball inside the box allowed Alemayo Kebede the step up to the spot, burying the ball in the back of the net. 

But hopes of a second half fight back were short lived. Michael Paleka sealing the victory for Raiders on 73 minutes in his final game for the club, announcing his retirement in the weeks prior to the Grand Final. 

2018 recruit Paul Blefari was rewarded with Man of the Match honours for his efforts on the day. 

Both clubs will now look forward to top flight football, already securing their place back to the National Premier League prior to today’s final. 

Raiders 2018 State League 1 Champions

State League 2 Grand Final 

Earlier in the day, Adelaide Victory claimed the title of State League 2 Champions, rounding out 2-0 winners over Playford City. 

Playford were on the back foot from the outset, with shot-stopper Anthony Capaldi bringing down Domenico Talladira inside the box on 6 minutes. Victory’s leading goal scorer for the season George Katsigiannis stepping up to take the penalty, making no mistake as he cooly slotted the ball past the diving Capaldi to send his side up 1-0. 

The result was sealed deep into the second half, Vincenzo Talladira breaking down the left, his eventual cross deflecting into the goal to the delight of the Victory bench. 

Victory came from fifth place on the table to find themselves in today’s Grand Final, a masterful effort from Yianni Stamatelopoulos and his coaching staff. 

George Katsigiannis was awarded the medal for best player on the field, as voted by the match officials, to cap off a fairytale season for the 2018 State League 2 Golden Boot winner. 

Playford Patriots and Adelaide Victory will now face the task of preparing for the lifted intensity of State League 1 Football in 2019. 

Adelaide Victory 2018 State League 2 Champions


2018 Reserves and Under 18 Grand Final Results - Sunday 2 September

2018 Reserves Grand Final Results


2018 U18 Grand Final Results



The 2018 Finals Series was proudly brought to you by Boral

Boral Logo - Full Size